Salik Hussain, DVM, PhD

Salik Hussain is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at the School of Medicine, West Virginia University. He also holds appointment in the Department of Microbiology Immunology and Cell Biology at WVU. He received DVM and MSc Hons in Toxicological Pathology from the University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan. During his masters he studied health impacts of pesticide and mycotoxin exposures. In 2004, he joined the Department of Pathology, University of Agriculture Faisalabad, as Research/Teaching Associate and later joined the University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Lahore, as a lecturer. In 2006, he moved to France, where he earned his MS and PhD degrees in Cell Biology and Toxicology at the University Paris Diderot, Paris, France.

He also worked in the Department of Public Health in the KU Leuven during his doctoral studies. He earned European Doctorate from Paris and then joined the NIEHS in 2011 as a Visiting Fellow in the clinical research branch. In 2014 he was promoted to a research Fellow position at NIEHS. Inn 2017, he moved from NIEHS to WVU to join Department of Physiology and Pharmacology and Inhalation Toxicology Center. His current research interests include elucidating the molecular mechanisms of disease susceptibility after environmental exposures. He also serves as the executive committee member for the Center for Inhalation Toxicology (iTOX) at West Virginia University. He serves as an Academic Editor for the journal PLOS One and also serves as ad hoc reviewer for more than 20 journals including ACS Nano, Nanotoxicology, Particle and Fibre Toxicology, Scientific Reports, Toxicological Sciences ad Toxicology Letters. He is author/co-author of 31 peer-reviewed articles and/or book chapters.

He has delivered multiple invited talks at international conferences including American Thoracic Society (ATS) and Society of Toxicology (SOT) annual meetings. His research work has won multiple awards from SOT including Outstanding Postdoctoral Achievements Award and Best publication of the Year Award.  He has been a member of the SOT since 2013 and has served the SOT in the following capacities: elected councilor and program committee member for NAMSS (formerly Nanotoxicology Specialty Section), poster session chair during annual meetings, and currently serves as Vice President Elect of the NAMSS.